Taking the leap to try a natural deodorant may feel like risky business, well it did for me at least.

I’m really excited to share with you in this blog post, some of the things I’ve discovered about most conventional antiperspirants and why this has made me ditch high street brands and turn to natural deodorants instead.

When I first started using green beauty products, my initial thoughts were that I’d just experiment using a few creams and make-up products, to see how they matched up against high street alternatives. The more I started to become involved in the green beauty community, though, the more I learned. It soon became apparent to me that everything I put onto my body will be absorbed through my skin, including my beloved 24-hour deodorant.

Like everyone nowadays, I have a pretty busy lifestyle – scratch that. I have a very busy lifestyle. My day starts at 5:00 am with a morning run or dog walk, I leave the house at 7:30 am for work and don’t return until 19:00 pm, then I spend my evenings entertaining a big, bouncy labrador and trying to fit in time to eat and catch up with my partner. The weekends are just as hectic. So, like most people, I don’t have time to worry about smelling a little whiffy (if that’s even a word). The deodorant I put on in the morning needs to keep me fresh all day.

The Trouble with Conventional Antiperspirants

Standard antiperspirants contain aluminium, which clogs the pores to prevent perspiration. This is bad news for your skin as the build up of sweat can cause inflammation and bacteria to grow under your skin which coincidently can lead to bad odour. Natural deodorants aim to mask any unpleasant odours whilst allowing your body to release sweat.

The thing we need to remember is that sweating is a natural bodily function, it helps the body regulate your temperate and keep you cool. Sweat is also clear, the yellow stain you sometimes find on your clothes is actually your body’s sweat reacting to the aluminium in your antiperspirant. So, switching to a natural deodorant will ensure your white clothes stay stain-free.

The long-term effects of the ingredients used in conventional antiperspirants are listed below. Many studies have been carried out on conventional antiperspirants but the jury is still out due to lots of conflicting results. In my opinion, better safe than sorry; I’d much rather avoid any products that could potentially contain carcinogens.

Take a look at some of the common ingredients found in standard deodorants:

  • Aluminum Compounds – Used to prevent perspiration. Linked to Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, skin irritation.
  • Parabens –  Preservative found in many cosmetic products. Linked to endocrine disruption, cancer and reproductive disorders.
  • Propylene glycol – Used to keep substances from drying out, it was originally developed as an anti-freeze. Linked to dermatitis, kidney and liver damage.
  • Talc – A soft mineral used as an absorbent in some personal care products. It is classified as a carcinogen (a substance capable of causing cancer in living tissue) if it contains asbestiform fibers. Unfortunately, the amount of asbestiform fibers in cosmetic grade talc is unregulated. Linked to cancer.
  • Triclosan – Antibacterial agent used to kill bacteria on the skin. Triclosan is already banned from some products. Linked to dermatitis, antibiotic-resistant bacteria, skin and eye irritation.

Switching to Natural Deodorants

Many natural deodorant brands allow you to sweat naturally without the unpleasant smell. They come in many forms, from creams to sprays to balms, and differ greatly in effectiveness.

If you are prone to sweating quite heavily then the move to natural deodorants may be difficult. Although I don’t sweat much whilst at work, I do in the morning when I’m out running, so I know the importance of using a deodorant which isn’t going to cause embarrassing smelly, sweat patches.

I’ve recently tested a clay deodorant by The Natural Deodorant Co, which has really effectively kept me dry and smelling very subtly of tangerine after an hour of running – impressive! Follow the above link to read the full review.

Some natural brands allow you to purchase testers relatively cheaply so that you can see how they work for you. I always recommend purchasing a tester first wherever possible to avoid spending too much money on products that may not be suitable for your skin or body.

Here are a Few of My Favourites

Vegan, suitable for sensitive skin and cruelty-free.

Salt of the Earth Crystal Classic Deodorant Stick, £4.85 for 90g.

Both unisex and unscented, the natural, crystal deodorant eliminates the bacteria which causes body odour whilst not clogging pores.

Gentle Deodorant Cream, £11 for 60ml.

The Natural Deodorant Co produce handmade cream deodorants in small batches that only contain a handful of natural ingredients. There are also options for active people who need stronger protection.

Click here to read my full review.

One thought on “Ditching Conventional Antiperspirants for Natural Deodorants

Leave a comment